Website of Kalinga Foundation Trust inaugurated

Website of Kalinga Foundation Trust inaugurated by Shri Naveen Patnaik, Hon’ble Chief Minister, Orissa

The website of Kalinga Foundation Trust (, was inaugurated by Shri Naveen Patnaik, Hon’ble Chief Minister of Orissa. Kalinga Foundation Trust was established and founded by Late Shri Biju Patnaik in the year 1959 for dissemination of knowledge in science. The website throws light on the objectives of the Trust and especially on the UNESCO Kalinga Prize. The award is presented to person or persons, who have made outstanding contribution to the interpretation of science and technology to the general public. The Director General of UNESCO selects the prize winner out of nomination received from Members States on the recommendation of a Four Member International jury. The Kalinga Prize is regarded as a prestigious international recognition for outstanding science popularisation work. It has so far been awarded to 63 brilliant promoters of science & technology since its inception. Some of the great scientists/personalities who have been awarded Kalinga Prize are Louis de Brogile (1952), Julian Huxley (1953), George Gamow (1956), Bertrand Russel (1957), Karl von Frisch (1958), Arthur C. Clarke (1961), Fred Hoyle (1967) and Sergei Kapitza (1979).

The website has been designed and developed by Bloochip Infoline Pvt. Ltd. ( a subsidiary of AABSyS IT Pvt. Ltd., and has the capability to be administered with a web-based Content Management System (Web-CMS), which allows the website to be maintained and updated very effectively to provide updated content to the public.